About BORN

Past Success Story - Better Screening Rates, Healthier Babies

Through Newborn Screening Ontario (NSO), every baby in the province is checked at birth for 29 medical conditions, such as cystic fibrosis, galactosemia, and sickle cell disease. Rare but treatable, these conditions affect approximately 150 of the 140,000 babies born in the province each year.

In rare instances, newborn screens may be overlooked during the flurry of activity immediately following birth. These missed screens are cause for concern, since time is of the essence to identify newborns who may appear healthy but actually require immediate treatment. With the advent of the BORN information system (BIS), however, babies who did not receive the newborn screen can be quickly identified and their parents offered this important test.

Launched in January 2012, the BIS enables collection of detailed information on every birth in Ontario, making the system one of the most comprehensive storehouses of maternal and child data in the world. Among many other functions, the BIS automatically cross-references each birth with Newborn Screening Ontario records to identify babies who have not been screened. This simple procedure helped identify nearly 500 potential missed screens within the first year of BIS operation. In each case, the system triggered an alert, immediately notifying the appropriate care providers and reducing the possibility that any newborn might suffer irreversible harm.

Au sujet de BORN

Histoires de réussite

Meilleurs taux de dépistage, nombreux bébés en santé

Grâce au Programme de dépistage néonatal de l’Ontario (PDNO), on examine chaque bébé à la naissance pour dépister des problèmes de santé tels que la fibrose kystique, la galactosémie et la drépanocytose. Ces troubles sont rares mais on peut les traiter, et environ 150 bébés naissants sur 140 000 s’en trouvent affectés chaque année dans la province.

Il arrive, quoique rarement, que dans l’activité fiévreuse qui entoure sa naissance, on n’examine pas immédiatement un bébé. Cette absence de dépistage est inquiétante, puisqu’il est crucial de détecter aussitôt que possible les nouveau-nés qui, malgré un air de bonne santé, ont besoin de traitements immédiats. Mais grâce au nouveau système d’information de BORN, appelé BIS, on détecte rapidement les bébés qui n’ont pas subi ce test important et on peut l’offrir aux parents sans plus tarder.

Lancé en janvier 2012, le BIS permet de recueillir des renseignements détaillés sur chaque naissance qui a lieu en Ontario. C’est le registre le plus complet au monde sur la santé maternelle et infantile. Parmi ses nombreuses fonctions, le BIS vérifie chaque naissance dans les dossiers du Programme de dépistage des nouveau-nés de l’Ontario afin de détecter ceux qui n’ont pas subi le test de dépistage. En appliquant ce simple processus, on a déjà cerné près de 500 dépistages manqués au cours de la première année de sa mise en vigueur. Dans chaque cas, le système a lancé un avertissement, informant immédiatement les fournisseurs de soins et réduisant la possibilité qu’un nouveau-né souffre de troubles irréversibles.